Saturday, September 16, 2017


Sheila and the Kit is a fresh new Dutch synth-pop band emerging with their bouncy, unpretentious and instantly catchy debut single "Homeschool Sweethearts". All band-members have earned their stripes in the music industry but now they come together under one umbrella to brighten up the end of the summer season with this irresistible and old-skool flavoured slice of Pop. Impossibly infectious!

As they say themselves: "Put on your sturdiest kicks and dance!".


The eccentric German duo Easter are back with yet another culinary-themed underground gem "Cuppa". Ever since I came across Stine Omar & Max Boss' debut album "The Softest Hard" back in 2012 I knew we were about to be immersed into something unique, uncompromising and bold. The strange concoction of poetry, minimal synth production, cuisine references and the pair's striking, cold, almost unapproachable presence create an incomparable visual and sonic experience. "Cuppa" is right up there with "The Heat", "Pillo", "New Cuisine" and "Alien Babies" among Easter's most engaging songs to date.

I have also recently stumbled upon Easter's live performance for Boiler Room which solidified my fascination with this truly unconventional duo:

Monday, September 4, 2017

Crème de la crème: TOP 25 BEST OF AUGUST 2017

Exclusive artwork: Les Cullinan Designs

25 (N) "Looking Glass" - Lone (R&S Records)

24 (N) "Glass" - Sink Ya Teeth (1965 Records)

23 (N) "Garden (Dan Lissvik Remix)" - Gundelach (U OK?)

22 (N) "Love & Cigarettes (любовь и сигареты)" - Kedr Livanskiy (2MR)

21 (N) "Virtue" - Kllo (Different Recordings)

20 (N) "Shinin'" - Lindstrøm feat. Grace Hall (Feedelity Music/ATV)

19 (N) "Without Love" - Alice Glass (Loma Vista)

18 (N) "Fools Wear Crowns" - Hercules & Love Affair (BMG)

17 (N) "Ordinary Lover" - Moon King (Arbutus)

16 (N) "Radar" - Noah Slee (Wondercore Island/Majestic Casual)

15 (N) "Motion" - Boy Harsher (self-released)

14 (N) "Woke" - Tiga (Turbo Recordings)

13 (N) "1 2 3 4" - Samantha Urbani (Lucky Number Music)

12 (N) "Make It Better" - Blissful (Vitund)

11 (5) "Oh My My" - Smerz (XL Recordings)

10 (2) "Narcissus" - Róisín Murphy (Lives Through Magic)

9 (RE) "Confess To U" - Omar S feat. Nite Jewel (FXHE)

8 (N) "On My Mind" - Jorja Smith X Preditah (FAMM Limited)

7 (N) "LMK" - Kelela (Warp)

6 (N) "Style Ga-Galore" - Hard Ton feat. Rotciv (Luv Shack)

5 (N) "How U Want It" - Rochelle Jordan (IAMSIAM)

4 (N) "Waves" - Chrystal (self-released)

3 (RE) "I Talk Bb" - Jessy Lanza (Hyperdub)

2 (N) "Last Breath" - Yaeji (GODMODE)

1 (1) "Featherlight" - Gus Gus (self-released on Bandcamp)

Friday, September 1, 2017

SHREM'S DOUBLE TROUBLE: "HOW U WANT IT" - Rochelle Jordan /// "ON MY MIND" - Jorja Smith & Preditah

2 supreme urban singles on the horizon!

Rochelle Jordan teams up with the mighty Machinedrum for a seductive, superbly produced eruption of electronica, RNB vibes and some of the fiercest beats we've heard all year. Jordan previously appeared on the American producer's last album "Human Energy". The pair's latest teamwork - "How U Want It" is one of the most impressive singles in months, a true sonic testimony to musical eclecticism, genre-binding and innovation.

Jorja Smith is really having her moment right now. Her most recent single "On My Mind" - a collaboration with Preditah is a delectable, pulsating excursion into 2-Step and UK Garage soundscapes. The track sets an enticing late 90's clubbing mood. Mj Cole's blissful "Sincere" comes to mind. Summer certainly ain't over yet!

Monday, August 28, 2017


I am returning following a 3-week long wedding driven hiatus to share some more music with you, hopefully in a more systematic manner again. Thank you for your patience.

It was difficult to choose the very first song as there have been quite a few new tracks on the horizon these past 3 weeks but I've decided to be loyal and dedicate it to Blissful - the brand new project by Svala Kali and Einar Egils from the cult Icelandic ensemble Steed Lord, one of the most blogged about acts on my carousel. Blissful have just dropped their most anticipated second single "Make It Better", a follow up to the duo's magnificent debut track "Elevate" of which I was singing the praises last year.

Even though the single clearly is a further venture into the electronic R'N'B territories, and even though some of Svala's vocals seem quite different, it's still uncannily THEM! Their signature synth-laden production amalgamated with one of their most melodic and (almost!) radio-friendly efforts to date creates a sublime pop moment! Understated yet offering tremendous potential at the same time. As the visual aspect of Blissful's work is a crucial element of their artistic vision, I am already looking forward to the video for "Make It Better".

Tuesday, August 8, 2017


Finnish maestro Jori Hulkkonen teams up with Tiga once again for another delectable, instantly anthemic slice of electro anthem "Woke". The kind of Tiga single which we all adore the most. Carrying some entertaining "Bugatti" and "Shoes" reminiscences, "Woke" electrifies with Tiga's signature catchy spoken phrases, throbbing beats, vocoders and a rather unexpected sax solo towards the track's finale.